The Department of Commercial Taxes is administering levy and collection of tax revenue under The Central Goods and Services Act 2017, The Goa Goods and Services Act 2017 and The Integrated Goods and Services Act 2017 along with other acts such as The Goa Value Added Tax, Central Sales Tax .

For the purpose of proper control and administration, the State of Goa has been divided into eight ward offices, namely, Panaji, Mapusa, Bicholim, Ponda, Margao, Vasco, Curchorem and Pernem. The overall tax administration is controlled and monitored by its Headquarters which is located at Panaji.