Welcome to the Department of State Tax

The Department of State Tax is administering levy and collection of tax revenue under The Central Goods and Services Act 2017, The Goa Goods and Services Act 2017 and The Integrated Goods and Services Act 2017 along with other acts such as The Goa Value Added Tax, Central Sales Tax .

For the purpose of proper control and administration, the State of Goa has been divided into eight ward offices, namely, Panaji, Mapusa, Bicholim, Ponda, Margao, Vasco, Curchorem and Pernem. The overall tax administration is controlled and monitored by its Headquarters which is located in Panaji.

Photo of Commercial Department Officials lighting the diva.

Overall in the state of Goa

About Taxpayers

A ‘Taxable Person’ under GST, is a person who carries on any business at any place in India and who is registered or required to be registered under the GST Act. Any person who engages in economic activity including trade and commerce is treated as a Taxable Person.


Total Taxpayers


Registered State Taxpayers


Taxpayers in North Goa


Taxpayers in South Goa

Who's Who

Photo of Chief Minister of Goa
Chief Minister of Goa
Photo of Chief Secretary of Goa Shri Parimal Rai, IAS
Shri Parimal Rai, IAS
Chief Secretary
Photo of Finance Secretary of Goa ,Shri Puneet Kumar Goel, IAS
Shri Puneet Kumar Goel, IAS
Finance Secretary
Photo of CST of Goa Shri Hemant Kumar, IAS
Shri Hemant Kumar, IAS
Commisioner of State Tax , Goa
More About Department Vision Document